Promise ring

No shocker this post is about a promise ring, but it’s not just about any promise ring. It is a  diamond ring sent from Kentucky to Manila, paid for in Texas. You see we’re living in a borderless world.

Dec 2, 2016 Manila–The morning after I got back home from my two-week vacation in Singapore, my sleep was interrupted by my sister and our neighbor calling out my name downstairs. A package was waiting for me at the gate!

package-small

Since Malachite asked me for my ring size there’s no surprise that I was getting a ring for my Christmas present, but as to what type of ring it was I had no clue (my guesses weren’t correct too). Now Malachite is a man of patience, but this time he just could not wait for Christmas, so I waited for him to get back home from work  that same day to open the package. Needless to say he had the pleasure of mentally capturing my reaction as I ‘unwrap’ what would be a very beautiful Christmas present.

promise-ring

Malachite got me a promise ring for Christmas! I like a set of simple stud earrings, and my jaded crucifix necklace and a wrist watch to match a day outfit. I am no connoisseur, but I appreciate a beautiful piece of jewelry. I got to give props to my boyfriend for choosing a lovely ring (he said when he saw it he knew instantly that it was perfectly what he wanted to give me).

However more than the design and the modest diamond feature, what I love most about this ring is what it represents. I was thrilled when I saw the ring, and teared up when I read the gift card. Malachite wanted to give me a ring for Christmas, but not just any ring. He wants it to symbolize nothing less of his heart which he willingly gives to me. He wants it to contain a promise to take care of, protect, be loyal to, and love me. I hear you folks, I’m one lucky woman indeed!

It’s the thought that counts

Gift-giving is deeply embedded in the origin of Christmas celebration. The Gospel of Matthew narrates the Magi presenting gifts to the newborn King, “After they had heard the king, they went on their way, and the star they had seen in the east went ahead of them until it stopped over the place where the child was. When they saw the star, they were overjoyed. On coming to the house, they saw the child with his mother Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped Him. Then they opened their treasures and presented Him with gifts of gold and of incense and of myrrh. And having been warned in a dream not to go back to Herod, they returned to their country by another route.” Unfortunately gift-giving has been denigrated to an obligation than a way to show our affection towards our family, friends, and colleagues, and the holidays associated to mall-wide sales and shopping. Christmas commemorates the birth of Jesus Christ–the ultimate expression of love, and its essence is to experience Jesus, to feel loved and to show love. Gift-giving is part of the Christmas tradition, and so it must be enveloped with love as well.

Malachite gives me a ring for Christmas, and it’s no ordinary one. It is a proof of his commitment to me and our relationship, and that is what matters most. Heck, he could send me a 10-dollar bag of candies and say it is his commitment to be the sweet man that he is forever, I don’t mind at all! Love is all that matters. Nevertheless, Christmas or no Christmas with Malachite in my life every day is a lovefest!

Meanwhile, Malachite’s Christmas present is on its way! I got him a 🙈🎁 which should arrive at his doorsteps early this week. Wait for it, Sweetheart!

*Personal information are extracted from the photos.

One thought on “Promise ring

Leave a Reply

